a little taste of home in france

IMG_4396

A couple of weekends ago was les Journées Européennes du Patrimoine, during which many famous buidlings and monuments, such as the Palais de l’Elysée (equivalent of our White House) and the Banque de France, open their doors to visitors to give folks the opportunity to learn about the country’s cultural heritage. This is a great chance to visit places that normally don’t open their doors to the public during the year. Although there is no shortage of opportunities to culturally enrich one’s self free of charge in France through events such as this, I rarely take full advantages of these perks. The few times that I have, the crowds and ridiculously long lines have deterred me from returning. I would rather pay the entrance fees on a regular day and enjoy the exhibits, unencumbered by hoards of people.

IMG_4400

So, instead of partaking in the annual cultural heritage week-end events, I decided to savor a little taste of home. I haven’t found any establishments that serve reasonably priced, lip-smacking and finger-licking good cheeseburgers (this may be because I don’t eat out often enough to discover anything new). Yes, I’ve heard of the burger food truck in Paris, but seriously, 10€ for some fries and a burger that pales in size to what I’m accustomed to in Texas?

Aside from price and diminuative size, there’s another reason that makes me not so inclined to track down a great burger in France. If I were to find that elusive burger, it would be nearly impossible to fully enjoy it if I were at a restaurant, as eating with your hands is a major no-no here. The Frenchies tend to never eat with their hands, not even when eating pizza or fries. This reminds me of that episode of Seinfeld where George ate a candy bar with a fork and knife.

IMG_4398

To satisfy my burger cravings, which had reached a feverish pitch, my husband threw together some burgers by “grilling” some patties on our new Creuset stovetop, cast iron grill. Being the savage that I am, I grabbed that burger with both hands and delighted in every last bite. And, all I have to say is that it was beyond good, maybe even better than the offerings in Texas.

a little taste of home in france

Comment

