vendredi vietnamien ~ smoothie à l’avocat

smoothie à l'avocat

Winter has definitely arrived. We woke up to a couple centimeters of snow this morning. I know, that’s not much, but it’s not very characteristic of the weather that we normally experience here during this time of year. Usually, the real cold doesn’t come until January or February. This weather is actually very reminiscent of what it was like when I arrived in France exactly two years ago this week. It was a bit of a shock to my system, since we only have two seasons in Austin, extremely hot and mildly hot. So you can imagine, I was less than thrilled to be greeted by wintry weather that year. Despite my affinity for warmer temperatures and sunshine, I think the cold is actually starting to grow on me now. It doesn’t seem to bother me as much anymore, or perhaps, I’ve just learned how to bundle up more appropriately these days. Nonetheless, I was rather surprised to find myself feeling happy to see the snow this morning.

With temperatures dropping to 0°C or lower in the evenings these days, I guess now may not be the best of times to be imbibing smoothies. But, I just have to share this deliciousness that I experienced earlier this week. Brace yourselves my friends, because this smoothie packs some serious goodness. Don’t be put off by my photo and presentation, because they certainly don’t do this smoothie much justice. Until now, I only thought of quả bơ, or avocados, as a savory food. I cringed every time I saw avocado smoothies on the menu at Vietnamese food shops in Orange County. Despite its creamy texture, I couldn’t imagine pairing them with sugar, or worse, with condensed milk. To me, the best way to indulge in the creaminess of a nicely ripened avocado was with a dash of salt, pepper and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar or on top of Tex-Mexican tacos. My husband, however, had never really experienced avocados the savory way. Growing up in Vietnam, he had only eaten avocados blended with ice and a generous dose of sugar. The first time I made this for him, I couldn’t even bring myself to taste it. But, the other night, we had some ripened avocados that needed to be eaten. I couldn’t believe how perfect they were when I sliced them open – not a single darkened spot, just perfectly, smooth green. I find myself holding my breath every time I cut into an avocado because, more often than not, parts of it, particularly the tip, has started to mold or it has some bruising, regardless of how much care I take in selecting and handling them. This time was different, though. After blending them up with some ice and sugar, the color was just too enticing to resist. I had to have a lick, and once I did, I was in heaven and my view of avocados has been forever changed.

Smoothie à l’avocat
2 ripe Haas avocados
3-4 tspns granulated sugar (or according to taste)*
ice

Blend all of the ingredients in a blender until smooth. Serve immediately.

*note: The sugar can be replaced by a couple of tablespoons of condensed milk.

Bon appétit!

vendredi vietnamien ~ smoothie à l’avocat

Comment

