muffins à la banane et aux noix

IMG_6099
I’d like to change things up a bit and try something different. Remember in my last post how I mentioned that I’m extremely frustrated with the slow progress that I’ve made in learning to speak French? Well, what better way to improve it than to write more. Much of my frustration comes from my lack of vocabulary, so writing more will hopefully increase my arsenal of words! So if you don’t mind, I’m going to attempt to write part of my blog in French. Each post will be in English, followed by the French translation.


So, let’s get started with my first bilingual post!

Our kitchen is currently in the midst of a full-on renovation. It has almost been completely gutted and only the bare essentials remain – just enough to allow us to cook basic meals. It’s been a pain to make anything, because we no longer have any counter space.
IMG_6095
After weeks of not baking anything though, I started to have a hankering for baking again. My husband loves banana bread, so I had tucked away a few ripe bananas in the fridge to ensure that they would further ripen without rotting. I made muffins instead of a loaf, since they don’t require as much time in the oven. This has become my go-to recipe – soft, moist and full of banana flavor.

Banana nut muffins
makes about 16 muffins

200 g all-purpose flour
200 g granulated sugar
100 g butter, room temperature
1.5 tspn baking powder
a pinch of salt
1/4 tspn ground cinnamon
2 tspn vanilla extract
65 g toasted, chopped walnuts
3 very ripe bananas, mashed
2 eggs
60 g petit-suisse*, plain yogurt, or crème fraîche

Preheat oven to 180°C. Mix the flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a bowl and set aside. Beat the butter with the sugar for a couple of minutes, until light and fluffy. Beat eggs in one at a time. Add bananas, petit-suisse and vanilla, mixing until well incorporated. Mix in dry ingredients in thirds. Line a muffin pan with paper liners. Fill the liners three-quarters of the way and bake for about 25 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean. If making a loaf, pour the mixture into a buttered loaf pan and bake for about 50-55 minutes.
*fresh milk cheese, similar to yogurt. for more info, go here or here.

traduction française
Je voudrais changer mon blog un peu et essayer quelque chose différente. Vous souvenez-vous dans mon post précédent où j’ai mentionné que je suis extrêmement frustrée par mon progrès en français? Alors, quel meilleur moyen de l’améliorer que d’écrire plus. La plupart de ma frustration provient d’un manque de vocabulaire donc en écrivant plus, j’espère que mon arsenal de mots augmentera. Du coup, si cela vous dérangera pas, je vais tenter d’écrire une partie de mon blog en français. Chaque post sera en anglais et suivi par la traduction française.

Bon, on y va avec mon premier post bilingue!
IMG_6102Notre cuisine est actuellement en plein travaux. Elle a été presque dépouillée et seul l’essentiel reste – juste assez pour nous permettre de préparer des repas simples. Il est chiant de cuisiner parce qu’on n’a plus de plan de travail.

Cependant, après des semaines de rien cuisiner, j’ai commencé à avoir envie de faire des gâteaux de nouveau. Mon mari adore le cake à la banane, donc j’ai mis des bananes mûres dans le frigo pour m’assurer qu’elles mûriraient encore plus sans pourrir. J’ai fait des muffins au lieu de faire un pain, puisque le temps de cuisson au four est plus court. Cette recette est devenue ma préférée – moelleux et plein de saveur de banane.

Muffins à la banane et aux noix

200 g de farine
200 g de sucre
100 g de beurre, à température ambiante
1.5 cuillères à café de levure chimique
1 pincée de sel
1/4 cuillère à café de cannelle en poudre
2 cuillères à café d’essence de vanille
65 g de noix concassées et grillées
3 bananes, bien mûres et écrasées
2 ‘œufs
1 petit-suisse

Préchauffer le four à 180°C. Mélanger la farine avec la levure chimique, le sel et la cannelle en poudre. Dans un autre saladier, crémer le beurre avec le sucre pendant quelques minutes, jusqu’à consistance légère et mousseuse. Incorporer les œufs, un par un. Ajouter les bananes écrasées, le petit-suisse et la vanille, en battant bien. Incorporer les ingrédients secs en tiers. Disposer des caissettes en papier dans un moule à muffins et les remplir jusqu’aux trois quarts. Faire cuire au four pendant 25 minutes ou jusqu’à ce qu’une sonde à gâteau en ressorte propre. Pour un pain, verser le mélange dans un moule à pain beurré et faire cuire pendant 50-55 minutes.

muffins à la banane et aux noix

Comment

