texans in paris!!!!!!

Cheddar Pep Muffins
Making friends in France has not been an easy feat. Given that I didn’t know anyone in France, having my own friends and social interactions was essential for allaying my sense of isolation. But, I have yet to develop a friendship with a frenchie. Initially, I thought it was me, but other people have also recounted similar experiences.

I was hoping that my friend situation would start looking up once I started working, since I had immediately bonded with several of my co-workers back in Austin. I soon learned though, that work is not the place to find friends. Most frenchies already have their own cliques, which are generally not open to new members. I may be over-generalizing, but work relationships tend to stay at work and you only get to know your colleagues on a rather superficial level. Plus, the frenchies just aren’t as friendly as we Americans are. Despite such norms, however, I have become close friends with my Kabyle office mate, who is like a sister to me now.

Eager to grow my social circle from one, I signed up for Meet-Up. I was a bit reluctant at first, because it seemed sort of unnatural to meet people this way. After months of not really participating though, I came across the mother of all meet-ups in Paris: Texan expats!! Our first meet-up, a tex-mex potluck/picnic followed by an outdoor movie, was a couple of weeks ago. It was absolutely amazing – fantastic company accompanied by food that took me back to the states. For a minute there, I had forgotten that I was in France in spite of the gorgeous backdrop.
Film en plein air 1
Film en plein air 2
For the potluck, I brought cheddar and jalapeño biscuits, or rather, a modified version of them. I had to change the recipe a bit because I could find neither cheddar nor jalapeños. I replaced the cheddar with goat cheese and the jalapeños with a Moroccan green pepper, which tastes very much like green bell peppers. To give the biscuits some heat, I upped the quantity of cayenne pepper.

Goat Cheese and Green Pepper Biscuits
[adapted from Simply Recipes]

makes about 16-20 biscuits

250 g all-purpose flour
65 g corn meal
50 g sugar
2 tspns baking powder
3/4 tspns salt
1.5 tspns cayenne pepper
100 g crumbled goat cheese
1 Moroccan green pepper, diced
300 ml heavy cream

Preheat the oven to 220°C. Whisk together the dry ingredients, and then stir in the goat cheese and the green peppers. Create a well in the center of the flour mixture and pour the cream into it. Using your hands, mix the ingredients together until the dough is sticky and clumpy. If necessary, add more cream a little bit at a time. Dust a surface with flour and knead the dough a couple of times, just until it comes together. Form the dough into a 2 cm thick disc and cut into round shapes using a biscuit cutter. Continue to form round biscuits by combining the remaining dough until there isn’t anymore dough. Place the biscuits 2-3 cm apart on a baking sheet lined with parchement paper. Then, brush the surface of the biscuits with some cream. Bake for about 12-13 minutes or until golden.
piment vert doux
(traduction française)
Trouver des amis en France n’a pas été un exploit facile. Comme je connaissais personne en France, avoir mes propres amis et interactions sociales était essential pour apaiser mon sentiment d’isolation. Mais, j’ai pas encore développé une amitié avec un français. Initialement, je croyais que c’était moi, mais d’autres personnes ont également raconté des expériences similaires.

J’espérais que ma situation commencerait à s’améliorer une fois que j’aurais commencé à travailler. Je n’avais pas de difficulté à me rapprocher de mes colleagues dans mon ancien job à Austin. Je savais pourtant, que le bureau n’était pas le lieu pour se faire des amis. La plupart des français se retrouvent en cercle fermé d’amis, généralement pas ouvert à de nouveaux membres. Peut-être que je généralise beaucoup, mais de ce que je vois au boulot, on ne connaît nos collègues que superficiellement. Et en plus, les français ne sont pas aussi chaleureux comme nous les américains nous sommes. Malgré cette nature, je me suis quand même rapprochée de ma collègue kabyle qui est devenue comme une soeur pour moi.

Impatiente d’agrandir mon entourage d’une seule personne, je me suis inscrite à Meet-up. J’étais un peu réticente au début parce qu’il semblait un peu anormal de rencontrer des gens de cette manière. Mais, après des mois de n’y avoir pas participé, j’ai trouvé la mère de tous les Meet-Ups à Paris: Texan expats!! Notre premier meet-up, un repas-partage tex-mex/pique-nique suivi par un film en plein air, a eu lieu il y a des semaines. C’était super chouette – compagnie fantastique accompagnée de bouffe qui m’a ramené aux états-unis. Pendant un instant, j’ai oublié que j’étais en France en dépit du beau arrière-plan.
film en plein air à paris
Pour le repas-partage, j’ai ramené des biscuits* au cheddar et piment jalapeño, ou plutôt une version modifiée de ces biscuits. Il fallait que j’aie changé la recette un peu parce que je ne pouvais trouver ni cheddar ni jalapeños. J’ai remplacé le cheddar par du fromage de chèvre et les jalapeños par des piments verts doux qui ont un goût de poivron vert. Pour donner un goût relevé, j’ai augmenté la quantité du poivre de Cayenne.

*N’arrivant pas à trouver une traduction exacte, j’ai utilisé le mot anglais même si biscuit en français veut dire “cookie” en anglais.

Biscuits salé au chèvre et piments vert doux
[tiré de Simply Recipes]

pour 16-20 biscuits

250 g de farine
65 g de semoule de maïs
50 g de sucre
2 c. à café de levure chimique
3/4 c. à café de sel
1.5 c. à café de poivre de Cayenne
100 g de fromage de chèvre émietté
1 piment vert doux, coupé en dès
300 ml de crème fleurette

Préchauffer le four à 220°C. Fouetter tous les ingrédients secs et y ajouter le fromage de chèvre et le piment vert. Former un puits au centre du mélange de farine et y verser la crème. Mélanger les ingrédients à la main jusqu’à ce que la pâte soit collante et agglutinée. Si nécessaire, ajouter encore plus de crème petit à petit. Fariner un plan de travail et pétrir la pâte 3 ou 4 fois, jusqu’à ce qu’elle soit homogène. Façonner la pâte en forme de disque à une épaisseur de 2 cm et la couper en rondelle à l’aide d’un emporte-pièce. Continuer à former des biscuits ronds en reformant la pâte restante jusqu’à ce qu’il n’y ait plus de pâte. Placer les biscuits 2-3 cm entre chacun sur une plaque à four recouverte de papier sulfurisé. Puis, badigeonner les biscuits avec de la crème. Faire cuire au four pendant 12-13 minutes ou jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient dorés.

texans in paris!!!!!!

4 thoughts on “texans in paris!!!!!!

  1. Hi, those biscuits would look right at home here in Texas! They look like they taste wonderful. Great photos on your blog. I look forward to keeping up with your latest. Thank you very much for following!

    1. Thanks so much for following my blog as well! I loooove the recipes on your blog and can’t wait to try some of them out. I miss living in Texas and Tex-Mex food!!!

  2. Love love these biscuits. So glad you got a chance to meet up some people, although a bit of an untraditional way, but hey as long as we some people to click with right.
    Nice to drop by your blog, and I love Paris and If I could I would live there. Btw, is the place Versailles??

    1. Hey there! Thank you so much for stopping by! Paris is a fantastic city to visit, but living here is definitely not what I had expected. No, that’s not Versailles – it’s actually in the middle of Paris at l’esplanade des invalides, which is right around the corner from the eiffel tower.

Comment

