La Pâtisserie de Cyril Lignac

l'équinoxe

When it comes to fabricating exquisitely, delectable pastries that would delight any tastebuds, the French without a doubt take the cake. With their innovative techniques and boundless creativity, they have elevated the craft of making pastries to a level that is unrivaled by none. In France, the profession has roots that extend as far back as the Middle Ages, so it’s no wonder that the exceptionally refined French culinary arts is renowned worldwide. Careers in pastries generally start early, where future pastry chefs enroll in professional programs as young as 14 years of age, so most will already have over a decade of experience under their belts by the time they are in their 20s. On top of that, there are numerous opporunties to exhibit their baking prowess at national and international pastry competitions, such as the World Pastry Cup, where the French have dominated year after year.

IMG_6349

While my husband’s cousin was in town, I wanted her to experience this speciality that is uniquely French. Among the many places to try on my ever-growing list was Cyril Lignac‘s pâtisserie in the 11th arrondissement. The first time I saw Cyril Lignac was years ago on TV while I was visiting the mister in France for the first time. It was a weekly show during which he came to people’s homes to show them how easy it is to properly prepare meals at home. I was instantly charmed despite not understanding a word of the dialogue. Ever since his move to Paris in 2000, this celebrity chef has built quite an empire through his TV projects as well as through his culinary ventures. He has two pâtisseries and three restaurants in Paris, one of which earned him a Michelin star last year.

Initially, I was slightly underwhelmed by how sparse and simple the pâtisserie is. But, once the pastries caught my eye, I knew I was in for a treat! Each little cake was stunningly beautiful, and it was very difficult to choose only a few. We ended up getting the blueberry and blackcurrent tart, the equinox (light vanilla cream with salted butter caramel and speculoos praline), and the carribean (creamy chocolate interior enveloped in chocolate mousse over a chocolate biscuit, with notes of fleur de sel and orange). I had a bite of all three and all I can say is that they were absolutely sublime and they tasted just as heavenly as they looked. Though a bit on the pricey side at 5 euros a pop, they were worth every cent!

Untitled

La Pâtisserie
24 rue Paul Bert
75011 Paris

La Pâtisserie de Cyril Lignac

6 thoughts on “La Pâtisserie de Cyril Lignac

  1. Wandered on by way of Asha’s blog and when I read your About section, I was so bummed you left behind the fabulous Tex Mex food of Texas (we lived there a few years ago and I STILL miss the brisket tacos) but then I saw this post and I see you traded on up 🙂 Can’t wait to read more of your European adventures!

    1. Paris is a great city, but I definitely still miss Austin. What I would give for some Tacodeli or Ruby’s BBQ!!!

    1. LOL, perhaps we should introduce ourselves first. I’m Nita-ok, now that’s out of the way, come on over! I’d love to show you around my neck of the woods!

    1. Thanks Gerard! I must say the pastries here in Paris are definitely out of this world. I used to rarely eat sweets, but now I can’t get enough!

Comment

