vendredi vietnamien ~ aubergines braisées

japanese eggplant

My poor blog fell to the wayside and started collecting quite a bit of dust while we were re-doing our kitchen. The renovations had taken much longer than I had anticipated because the mister did all of the handy work himself, including the electricity, plumbing, flooring, painting, and installing the new cabinets. With a regular 9-5, however, his progress had been rather slow, particularly because noise ordinances here in France prohibit any sort of construction that causes excessive noise that could be a nuisance to neighbors on Sundays and after 7:30 pm on weekdays.

eggplant

Before our kitchen was finished though, I could not resist doing a little bit of cooking once the counter space was installed. Though my husband had already put in the new stove at the moment, I wasn’t too confident I knew how to use it yet since it is digital and doesn’t have any knobs. I opted, instead, to prepare something with our surprisingly robust hotplate. I had been dying to make this eggplant dish for months, but everytime I looked for Japanese eggplants at the Asian markets, they were never fresh. When selecting Japanese eggplants, they should be slightly firm and the stem should not be withered, per the suggestions of the lady in this video demonstration. I had come across this recipe when I was searching for other canh cà bung recipes to compare to my own. I absolutely love everything eggplant because it tastes amazing no matter how it’s prepared, whether it be a dip, grilled, roasted, baked, sautéed or in a soup. So, I was very excited to try a new eggplant dish, especially since this one only takes about 15 minutes to throw together. With the exception of the soy sauce mix and oil, she doesn’t specify the quantity of any of the ingredients in the video, so I just eyeballed it. I found that the amount of cooking oil called for, half a cup, was too much, so I reduced the amount to just 2-3 tablespoons. Likewise for the soy sauce mix – had I used the amount she specified, 2 tablespoons of each ingredient, it would have been too salty. Thus, I reduced the amounts to those in my version of the recipe below. Bon appétit!

Braised Japanese Eggplant

Braised Eggplant
serves 2

3 Japanese eggplants
3-4 cloves garlic, finely minced
1.5 tablespoons soy sauce
1/2 tablespoon oyster sauce
1 tablespoon brown sugar
2-3 green onions, cut into 3-4 cm lengths
2-3 tablespoons oil

Cut the eggplant into 5-6 cm lengths and then cut them into quarters lengthwise. Then, soak in water with about 1-2 teaspoons of lime juice to prevent the eggplant from becoming discolored. Mix the soy sauce, oyster sauce, and brown sugar in a bowl and set aside. Heat the oil in a sauté pan over high heat and cook the garlic until it becomes fragrant, being careful not to let it brown. Add the eggplant and sauté until the skin turns brown. Stir in the soy sauce mixture. Once the sauce is incorporated, add the green onions. Serve with a side of steamed rice and enjoy!

vendredi vietnamien ~ aubergines braisées

Comment

