ms Janstch-inspired scones

sconesThough I got rid of most of my belongings before moving here, I made sure to make some room in my suitcases for a few keepsakes that would remind me of home and my family and friends back in the US. One of the goodies that I brought with me was Ms. Janstch’s scone recipe. My good friend, Mrs. Moline, whose social reach is more expansive than I could ever imagine, introduced me to a whole host of lovely ladies back in Austin, TX. Ms. Janstch was among these lady friends. She graced us with dozens of scones at a lady’s potluck brunch one Sunday. Her scones without a doubt were the star of the brunch and I just had to have the recipe before leaving. Luckily, Ms. Janstch was gracious enough to share her recipe with me. I have since adapted her recipe to my own kitchen and tastes. Ah, the nostalgia invoked each time I make these lovely scones!
scone doughMs. Janstch’s recipe came with me to France, but unfortunately, I had to leave the folks who are dear to me behind. I miss my gal pals back home and having them nearby would certainly temper the difficulties of adapting to life abroad. At times, I feel lost and isolated, and now that relationships with cellphones are becoming increasingly favored over those with real, live humans, the prospects of forging an equally stimulating and solid social group here in France look pretty slim. In the meantime, these scones will have to hold me over until my next visit back home!

sconescinnamon raisin scones

Cinnamon Raisin Scones
makes about 2 dozens

250 g flour
100 g sugar
2 tspn baking powder
1/4 tspn salt
1/4 tspn ground cinnamon
100 g butter
2 eggs, slightly beaten
100 g raisins
1-2 tbspns rum

Soak the raisins in the rum for about an hour.

Preheat oven to 200°C. Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl. Cut the butter into small cubes and combine them with the flour mixture with your hands. Once thoroughly incorporated, add most of the eggs, while reserving about a tablespoon, and continue mixing. If the dough mixture is too dry, add a little bit of milk to give it some moisture. Fold in the rum-soaked raisins. Divide the dough into two and form a round disc with each portion. Cut each disc into 6 triangles. Place the dough onto a parchment paper lined baking sheet. Brush the surfaces with the remaining egg. Bake for about 15 minutes. Allow to cool on a rack.

Best enjoyed slightly warm with a cup of hot tea.


Version française
Bien que j’aie jeté la plupart de mes affaires avant de m’installer en France, je me suis assurée de laisser un peu de place dans mes valises pour des souvenirs qui me feraient penser à ma famille et mes amis en outre-mer. Une des bonnes choses que j’ai ramenée avec moi était la recette de scones de ma copine Mlle Janstch. Ma chère copine Mme Moline, dont son cercle social est plus large que je pourrais jamais imaginer, m’a présenté à un nombre de filles adorables à Austin, TX. Mlle Janstch était une de ces filles. Elle a ramené des douzaines de scones à un brunch entre filles où toutes les invitées ont apporté un plats à partager un dimanche. Ses scones étaient sans doute le star du brunch et je voulais bien avoir la recette avant de partir. Heureusement, Mlle Janstch avait l’amabilité de me donner sa recette. J’ai depuis adapté sa recette à mon propre goût. Quelle nostalgie invoquée chaque fois que je fais ces scones délicieux!
sconescinnamon raisin sconeLa recette de Mlle Janstch m’a accompagné en France, mais malheureusement, j’ai dû laisser derrière moi les gens qui me sont chers. Mes copines me manquent tellement et les avoir plus près tempérerait certainement les difficultés de m’adapter à la vie à l’étranger. Parfois, je me sens perdue et seule et maintenant que les relations avec des portables deviennent de plus en plus préférées à celles avec des êtres humains, les chances de forger un reseau social aussi stimulant et solide ici en France sont minces. En attendant, ces scones devront me tenir jusqu’à ma prochaine visite au pays!

Scones à la canelle et aux raisins secs
makes about 2 dozens

250 g farine
100 g sucre
2 cuillère à café de levure chimique
1/4 cuillère à café de sel
1/4 cuillère à café de cannelle en poudre
100 g beurre
2 oeufs, légèrement battus
100 g raisins sec
1-2 cuillère à soupe de rhum

Plonger les raisins secs dans le rhum pendant environ une heure.

Préchauffer le four à 200°C. Dans un saladier, mélanger les ingrédients secs. Couper le beurre en dès et le mélanger avec les ingrédients secs en utilisant les mains. Une fois complètement incorporé, ajouter la plupart des oeufs tout en réservant environ une cuillère de soupe et continuer à mélanger. Si la pâte est trop seche, ajouter un peu de lait afin de la donner un peu d’humidité. Incorporer les raisins plongés dans le rhum. Diviser la pâte en deux et former un disque rond avec chaque partie. Couper chaque disque en 6 triangles. Metter la pâte sur une plaque à pâtisserie tapissée de papier sulfurisé. Badigeonner les dessus avec l’oeuf restant. Cuire au four préchauffé environ 15 minutes. Laisser refroidir sur une grille

Bonne dégustation!

ms Janstch-inspired scones

Comment

