Public transport and Oeuf Cocotte

Oeuf cocotte

My daily commute has become twice as long since changing jobs earlier this year, thus, exponentially  increasing the chances of unwelcomed encounters, such as seeing the nether regions of a drunkard naked from the waste down and passed out on a metro bench first thing after getting off the metro in the morning. Today, the ride got a little too raw and up close for my comfort. Being crammed in the métro is nothing new during rush hour. But, with the warmer temperatures from this Indian summer we’ve been having, being packed like sardines among folks who have not quite caught onto the practice of using deodorant, especially on warmer days like today, is an excruciating assault on the senses. Having my personal space violated many times over in a box full of warm, sticky, smelly bodies was torture enough, but at the stop after I had gotten on, a horde of folks boarded the train, one of them being an awkwardly rotund teen, sweat dripping from his nose and upper lip and whose backside was covered in what looked like dandruff, further pronounced by his black t-shirt. I just hoped with all of my might that the train would not brake suddenly, because my face would end up splat in that pile of dry, white head excrement. As if that wasn’t bad enough, the trained stalled a couple of times, making the ride even longer than necessary.

And, to end today’s horrors of public transport, I saw something that I wish my eyes could unsee. After an exhausting ride on the train, I wasn’t in the mood to walk home, even though it’s only roughly an 8 minute walk back to my apartment. With my clothes glued to me like paper maché, I wasn’t about to risk exerting any more energy and consequently, adding to the grime I had just accumulated from the train ride home. So, I waited for the bus. The dude who was also waiting there did what I would never dare to do in public…well, something I just wouldn’t do anywhere to be quite honest, not even in the privacy of my own home. He started fidgeting with his rearend, so initially, I thought perhaps he was having a wardrobe malfunction and needed to undo a wedgie. But no, that was not the case. He stuck his hand far up his ass and proceeded to scratch it as though he were digging for gold, full on dug his fist up there with no inkling of shame nor discretion. I was standing not even half a meter away and he did not seem to care that I clearly saw what he just did. Thank goodness there was a barrier of jeans between his hand and his bare ass. Otherwise, getting on that bus with him would have been a serious hepatitis A risk.

Fortunately, I don’t have any pictures to share of these unpleasantries. Instead, I’ll share a recipe for eggs cocotte, or baked eggs. The first time I tasted this dish was at the brunch at Château Mont-Royal that my husband and I went to several months ago. Though their rendition was a bit simple, it was good nonetheless, because afterall, how could you possibly go wrong with eggs baked in cream? My version is also pretty basic, but a notch up from their plain cream and eggs. I added some bacon, feta cheese and green scallions as well as a dash of Tapatio hot sauce before serving to give it a bit more depth. This dish is incredibly versatile and you can add just about anything you want. It’s also a cinch to throw together and a perfect appetizer that even the finickiest of kids will love!


Oeuf Cocotte
4 servings

4 eggs // 4 slices of bacon // heavy cream // dab of butter
feta cheese // chopped green scallions //salt and pepper, to taste

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Fry up the bacon and once crispy, place on a plate covered with a couple of paper towels to soak up any excess grease. Once cool, chop into bacon bits.
  3. Butter 4 ramekins and layer the bottom with the bacon bits.
  4. Pour heavy cream into each of the ramkins until they are about half full. Then, add some crumbles of feta cheese and green scallions.
  5. Carefully crack an egg into each of the ramekins. Season with pepper and a dash of salt, but go easy on the salt since the feta is already salty.
  6. Bake in the oven for about 8 minutes. Be careful not to overcook the egg though, so keep an eye on them while their in the oven.
  7. Once out of the oven, top with a squirt of Tapatio hot sauce and enjoy while still hot. Best served with a warm baguette.

Bon appétit!

Public transport and Oeuf Cocotte

2 thoughts on “Public transport and Oeuf Cocotte

Comment

